A History of Prevention Work: NO MORE Day and Beyond

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Today is National NO MORE Day, marking the the public launch of the country’s first unifying awareness symbol against domestic violence and sexual assault. Today we are joining others in saying NO MORE, and renewing our commitment to teach our families, friends, partners, neighbors, colleagues, and communities how to prevent, recognize, and respond to domestic and sexual violence.

This month also marks National Women’s History Month, offering an opportunity to honor the generations of women whose commitment to social justice have proved invaluable to society. We pause to remember and thank visionary leaders who have been instrumental in advancing our movement. Access the recorded NRCDV webinar, KEEP RISING! 4 Visionaries Share their Inspiration to Persist, to learn from long-time movement leaders who have dedicated their lives to ending violence against women and girls.

It is in the spirit of reflecting on our history that we announce a new resource: Domestic Violence Prevention: A history of milestones and achievements. This interactive timeline documents key historical events known to significantly impact or advance the goal of intimate partner violence prevention in the United States, noting intersections with sister social justice movements.

When we look back at how much we’ve achieved together in the past 40+ years, we are able to more clearly see the path ahead and envision the monumental changes that are to come. There is much work to be done, but as we unite on National NO MORE Day let us draw on the strength of our collective voice – gathering in solidarity to move towards our common goal. Let us move forward truly believing what we all know to be true: violence is preventable. It’s up to all of us.

Watch and share the NO MORE Day PSA:

Tweet with @VAWnet today at 3pm Eastern/2pm Central/12pm Pacific at #NOMOREDay to be part of the conversation!